Thursday 6/14

Today I did a lot of reading background literature.  I read a lot of journal articles, especially ones about autism and the BTBR mice. Cody was in town applying for a job at the track, so I had lunch at Burger King with him.

When we were ordering our food, the person at the register asked us if we wanted to try a new bacon sundae.  Yes, you read that right….BACON. Ew.  Who would want to eat bacon on a sundae?  Not me, that’s for sure.  Cody brought me back to Skidmore, where I met with Bernie.

We checked the running wheels and made sure none of the mice escaped and whatnot.  Then I asked him questions about what I had read and we discussed it.  After our meeting, I headed back to my room to pack for the weekend.

Once I had packed, I had dinner with Cody that I snuck out of the dining hall for him (Shhhhh!).  Then we headed home, to the GHS Scholarship night, where graduating seniors receive the scholarships they have won.  Cody made out well–he received a lot of scholarships.  I’m so proud of him!

Later that night I came home and spent some time with my mom, and then hung out at Cody’s house for a while.  His house still has no internet, which is why I’m writing Thursday’s post on Friday.  And now I’ll write Friday’s post! 🙂

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

Leave a Reply

