Monday 6/18

This morning when I woke up, Cody came over to eat breakfast with me for our 1.5 year anniversary.  I can’t believe how the time has flown! Cody had to leave pretty quickly though to volunteer at Kingsborough’s field day so I did some laundry and packed up my stuff to come back to Skidmore.  Then Cody came back to my house to have lunch with me before I left.

I arrived at Skidmore and went straight to the lab to check on my mice.  In the second room, one mouse had escaped (a Balb of course) and it was sitting right under it’s cage.  Luckily I was able to snatch it up quickly and put it back in it’s cage.  After I checked on everything I brought my stuff back into my room to kill some time until I could meet with Bernie.  Once I came back to the lab, Bernie showed me the programs we use to analyze the running wheel data and how to use them.

After a lot of time, I created files for every mouse, printed actograms for the LD data, and calculated a lot of other values, which I wrote down and started to enter into a SAS, a statistical analysis program.  That’s four different computer programs that I learned to use (and did use) in one day.  AND I analyzed data for 29 mice.  That’s 29 data files.  Which means a heck of a lot of work.  But I’m a quick learner, so it was a piece of cake once I got the hang of things.  This research thing is a lot of fun.  Tomorrow I’ll get to see my first results! Yay!

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

Leave a Reply

