Thursday 6/21

This morning I finally got up early enough for breakfast in d-hall!  Unfortunately, there wasn’t anything especially good, so I grabbed a muffin and headed back to my room to read some journal articles.

When lunchtime came along, I went to d-hall and luckily they had my favorite chicken quesadillas. Yum!  After lunch I went straight to the lab and checked on the mice, re-ran some more statistics, and talked with Bernie.  We decided to breed more BTBR mice for the school year, so we paired up males and females in new cages and got them all set up.

After that, Cody arrived on campus and I went to meet him.  He was hungry so we went to the Spa to get him a sandwich and I got to introduce him to some of the people I work with for work study during the school year.  Then we went back to my room and tried to keep cool while we waited to meet Cody’s sister at the mall.

Cody’s sister Nicki and I went around shopping for a dress for her to wear to Cody’s graduation.  Eventually she found a really cute dress and we had a lot of fun shopping around and looking at clothes.  But I don’t think Cody enjoyed it too much…  It’s okay though, he found a Buddy Holly CD and a movie to buy, so it wasn’t a total waste for him.  Plus, we all kept cool.

After we came back from the mall, Cody and I went to Dairy Haus, an ice cream shop right aroud the corner from Skidmore.  It was the first time I had ever been there but I was really impressed.  I got a cone of homemade chocolate almond ice cream and it was absolutely delicious.  It was just what I needed on such a hot day.

Melty, but delicious.

Tomorrow I’m headed back home for Cody’s graduation, so I might not be able to keep up my posts, but thanks for reading!

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

2 responses to “Thursday 6/21

  1. david

    Baby chocolate?

  2. Nancy

    Isn’t Dairy Haus THE BEST??

Leave a Reply

