Graduation Weekend (6/22-6/24)

This was just about the busiest weekend ever.

Friday afternoon I drove home for the weekend.  When I got home, I hung out with Cody and some of his friends for a while, and then when my mom got out of work I went home to spend some time with her.  Later I invited my friend Mary Grace over and we had a lot of fun catching up.  We ordered pizza and Cody met up with us for dinner.  After I brought Mary Grace home, I went to Cody’s house and we watched The Best of Chris Farley.  Good thing Cody’s graduating high school so he doesn’t have to end up living in a van down by the river.

You’re gonna be doing a lot of doobie rolling when you’re living in a van down by the river!

Then Saturday was Cody’s Graduation!  I am so proud of Cody and all he has accomplished.  He graduated first in his class, was president of his class all four years, and won the Principal’s award, one of GHS’s highest honors.  Cody’s valedictorian speech was great, even though he didn’t mention me in it enough (or at all 😛 ).

I’m so proud of him!

After graduation I went out to lunch with Cody’s family and then we took a break before we headed off to Cody’s friend Zach’s graduation party.  We had a long ride ahead of us (3 hours there and back) but Cody and I enjoyed ourselves in the car singing our heads off, making jokes about town names we passed along the way, and talking a lot.  We had a lot of fun at the party too.  There was great food and we really enjoyed ourselves.

On Sunday our day was even crazier.  We had four graduation parties to go to.  We went to Cody’s teammate Matt’s party first, then headed over to our friend Stephanie’s party.  It was nice seeing people at both parties that I haven’t seen in a while.  We had to stop back up at Cody’s house and then we went to our friend Armondo’s party, where a lot of Cody’s friends were found lurking about…

Lastly, we went to our friend Courtney’s party at the lake.  We had a lot of fun even though we got there as the party was winding down.  We hung out on the beach and everyone had a lot of fun.  Plus we buried Angela.

I ended up having an amazing weekend home, and I didn’t want to leave.  But alas, I arrived safely at Skidmore on Monday afternoon.  But more on that later…

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

Leave a Reply

