Monday 6/25

This morning I got up and thought everything would go smoothly.  I planned to get back to Skidmore around 1.  Of course I should know that my plans never work out.

I did some laundry right when I woke up, but then Cody came over and I couldn’t help but just relax with him.  Cody made me some really delicious french toast, and I folded laundry.  Then it started to look nasty outside.  Mother nature did not want me to get back to school on time.  My mom wanted me to wait until the storm passed until I left, so it looked like I would be stuck home for a while.  Cody had to go home unexpectedly and I was left to pack up my stuff.  Once I was ready to leave, I realized I couldn’t do so.

I had left my wallet with Cody the day before, and I needed it back before I could go to Skidmore because it had my SkidCard in it, my key to my dormroom.  So I was delayed yet again because I had to make a trip up to Bleeker to get my wallet.

Eventually, I finally got to Skidmore.  I went straight to the lab and started analyzing the data for the lead mice’s LD cycle.  Luckily, the computer we use to collect data has a backup power supply, because there was a scheduled maintenance power outage.  The Dana Science Center has a backup generator too, so at least I was able to work on the computers during it.  After I had completed the long and boring process of converting 32 files, Bernie and I realized that we accidentally cut off a day’s worth of data.  What does that mean? It means I had to do it all over again.  What a pain in the butt that was.

Tomorrow morning I am going to finish analyzing all the data.  Wish me luck!

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

Leave a Reply

