Wednesday 6/27

The first exciting thing to happen today was journal club.  I didn’t my hands on the article until 10 minutes before it started so I didn’t get a chance to read more than the abstract, but I learned a lot from the presentation.  The paper and the presentation discussed the use of zebrafish as model organisms to study fetal alcohol syndrome and the effects of ethanol on the development of zebrafish.  It was really interesting, plus we got to have journal club in a room I never knew existed filled with cages and tanks containing fish, birds, and lizards.

After journal club ended I went to the lab and discussed a bunch of stuff with Bernie.  Turns out next week we are getting a new student researcher for the rest of the summer and I get to teach her about circadian rhythms and stuff.  And furthermore, it turns out I already know her.  Her name is Nicole and she was in my freshman seminar.  That’s pretty fun news.

To familiarize her with circadian rhythms, we may have a little fun with actiwatches, little wristband “watches” that you wear to find out your own circadian rhythm.  I’m so excited at the prospect of creating my very own actogram!!! I’m such a nerd.

I haven’t seen them yet, but I think these are the actiwatches!

After I met with Bernie I decided to get started with my poster for the BTBR mice, considering all the data is already analyzed.  I am wayyy to ambitious though, I got on a roll and I’ve been working on it for at least 6 or 7 hours.  I have the intro planned out, and the methods and results nearly done already. I’m so tired, and I have a busy day tomorrow.  Sorry for the shortness of this post, but it’s time for bed.  Goodnight!

About kararode

Hey! I'm Kara, and I am creating this blog as a sort-of diary to keep track of my summer research experience at Skidmore College. It is such a great opportunity and I don't want to forget a single bit of it! Feel free to read and take a peek at what it's like to be me, working in the laboratory as a "real" research scientist :)

Leave a Reply

